Orangee

Reflection no. 1ne.

In Mentalization, Ponder on September 28, 2010 at 18:20

I’m reading a book and it’s a story within a story discussing a story and how to make your life story more interesting from the perspective of a writer. That came out sort of redundant and a bit weird, but that was my attempt to explain it without confusing myself, however, this segment caught my undivided attention:

“Humans are designed to seek comfort and order, and so if they have comfort and order, they tend to plant themselves, even if their comfort isn’t all that comfortable. And even if they secretly want for something better.”

This spoke volumes to me. I realized that I get caught up in my day-to-day activities and often times take my eyes off the bigger picture and overall goal of my life. My work load gets quite extensive and at times overwhelming (nothing I can’t handle, I love a challenge), but I find myself yearning for that weekend break. Before I know it, the week has gone by, the weekend is here and I have volunteer work, family and friends time, amongst other projects and very little planning time allotted for where I plan to be 5 years from now. I’m comfortable. Right now. Which I find estranged, because I dread comfort. I’m always looking for something new to involve myself in, a new book to engage in, someone new to reach out to. I’m all about the new. I like to stay renewed.

So then I ponder: Do we ever realize we’ve become too comfortable without needing to be reminded? Do we recognize comfort as comfort or are we oblivious to the state of it while we reside in it? Is to live comfortably our ultimate state or do we yearn for more than mere comfortability?

Take a walk with me…

  1. Interesting. It’s probably very relative. I mean, I am comfortable…but in a very uncomfortable place. I have become so used to the uncomfortability, that it has become uncomfortably comfortable. make sense? there is this tiny voice… almost inaudible… that tells me this isnt where I am supposed to be… and it makes me uncomfortable. it startles my soul… and then i realize … like a lone traveler… who has stopped for too long in one place…its time to move on.

    I am in one of those places now… I need to get to moving!

Leave a Reply

