Orangee

Bundle of Randomness

In Mentalization, Ponder on September 16, 2010 at 17:09

It started like this:

I’m exiting the building at work, keys in hand, ready to get out of there. A middle-aged woman standing in the lurking shadows shouts at me. “Hey! Can I ask you a question?!” My immediate thought was: You just did. But instead I replied: Sure, you can ask me another question. I was in a sarcastic mood, which is typical upon leaving work, after dealing with loads of bullshit all day, but I manage it well. πŸ™‚

So the woman proceeds with her question, which was constantly interrupted by an atrocious hacking cough, might I add. However, the woman asked, “are you bothered by the world ending?” I followed up with a counter: if I said it bothered me would that change the state of things? She gave me a blank stare. So then I said: It’s still gonna end right? Meaning that whether it bothers me or not if the world were gonna end its going to end anyway, unaffected by my being bothered. Correct? She later went on to say that I didn’t answer her question. Which was true and I didn’t purposely just to see where her head was at.

But all of that was insignificant to my point at hand. Human beings let things they can’t control or change bother and worry them. And I separate myself from this group, simply because I don’t let things bother me. If I can’t pay for a bill that’s due, I’m not going to let that interrupt my sleep, make me miss a meal, or pull out any of my hair. If I have exhausted all of my options, I let things be, until the nature of my situation has been enhanced allowing me to be able to rectify the situation. As beings, we have to learn when to let go, don’t stress yourself out over things that are beyond your control. As the quote says: β€œWorry is like a rocking chair. It gives you something to do, but it doesn’t get you anywhere.” Keep that in mind.

Side Note: Another reason I didn’t answer this lady’s question is because I have a philosophy about this world and its ending and frankly I didn’t have the time to sit and share it with her, AND I didn’t want to pass out from smoke inhalation. But that’s another topic, for another time, for another blog.

The ultimate goal at hand is to continue to proceed with life, in a positive direction. Not speaking from expertise, merely speaking from experience. Onward and Upward. Let’s Go!

  1. lmao! priceless ending.

    stress…my area of expertise… perhaps my outlook would be different if i didnt have children. maybe then i would able to throw my hands up and say…whatever will be will be…

    im trying to learn to beat myself up less… so far its not going very well… but im trying! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

