Orangee

The Right to Think for Yourself vs. Being Told What to Think

In Uncategorized on March 18, 2010 at 21:01

An immeasurable problem persists in our society when it comes to the ability to think for ourselves and from that stems making our own executive decisions to choices that not only affect us, but have an effect on us, as a whole.

As I stated in a prior blog response: Maybe the fear is that if the opposed/favored party, pertaining to the media especially, appears objective then people will for once have a choice to decide rather than being told what to think. This problem lies in so many situations, including our school system. And many wonder why children are incapable of thinking for themselves. They are allotted very little freedom to do so. The creative courses that were once mandatory are being removed and/or made optional [though I realize this varies per school district]. Children are being taught too structured. The standardized tests are taking control of their minds and teaching them that there is only one way to learn [via multiple choice] and if you can’t “get it,” then you aren’t fit to proceed to the next level of learning. I’m baffled by this.

Being bred in such a society, I plead guilty to making decisions based off what I’ve been told or have been shown. I’ve made unconscious decisions. Neglected to do my own research on certain topics and allowed others to tell me what I should think. I deem that to be unacceptable.

For instance, one of my favorite and most sufficient examples to use: the media’s negative portrayal of Hurricane Katrina victims. I remember in 2005 when this happened, I was taking an Advertising course and the Professor showed us the difference in how some media stations referred to Black Katrina victims as “looters” and their White counterparts as “finders”. How THE [FCUK] is one group considered looters when they are using the same tactics of survival? That really irked me [still does]. But tons of people allowed the media to tell them what to think in terms of these people, by letting fear be instilled in them, in regards to those victims. I remember hearing people talking, in passing, about how they felt unsafe that Katrina victims were being housed in their community. My thoughts: what have YOU seen them do that makes you feel unsafe? Why would they make you feel unsafe as opposed to any other unknown stranger? It was the media who created that outlook and so many people readily adopted it, without so much as using their own brain to form an opinion.

There are so many instances that can make this blog bleed miles long where The Right to Think for Yourself vs. Being Told What to Think are involved. I just really wish more people would think for themselves, we aren’t robots. But that’s wishful thinking I suppose. I accept all information with skepticism, I need to know for myself before I adopt anything as my own from someone else.

As always. The ultimate goal at hand is to continue to proceed with life, in a positive direction. Not speaking from expertise, merely speaking from experience. Onward and Upward. Let’s go! Until we get there…

  1. “Being bred in such a society, I plead guilty to making decisions based off what I’ve been told or have been shown. I’ve made unconscious decisions. Neglected to do my own research on certain topics and allowed others to tell me what I should think. I deem that to be unacceptable.”

    I’m guilty of this too. It’s hard not to be influenced (even on a subconscious level) by the messages we’re fed on a daily basis. They begin from the moment we wake up and turn on the news or while we’re pouring cereal (the images on the box). It’s impossible to pick up on all these messages and contemplate each and every one of them.

    “I accept all information with skepticism, I need to know for myself before I adopt anything as my own from someone else.”

    I’m the same way. I’m naturally very inquisitive. People make fun of me because I “Google” everything. If you tell me it’s going to be 80 degrees this weekend, you better believe I’m confirming that. It’s funny (and sad) because growing up as a child in the Caribbean, I was taught that it was disrespectful to ask questions. A lot of times the response was, “Because I said so” or “Because I’m your mother.” I always got reprimanded for my inquisitiveness. Children need to be rewarded for this.

Leave a Reply

