Orangee

You Could Be ANYthing Yet You Chose NOthing?

In Real Life No Gimmicks on February 9, 2010 at 21:43

We can do ANYthing we put our minds to. The only question remains is do we want to put forth the efforts of hard work and dedicated energy it’ll take to get us there. This reminds me of dudes (chicks included) back in the hood where I grew up. Everybody dreams of a fancy car and place of residence, but nobody does anything productive to get there. A dream without plan or action is simply a pigment of one’s imagination. And an imagination is no good if the brain power behind it isn’t being properly utilized.

I went off to college. Graduated (Hook Em’). Came back. And they are still standing on those same corners, talking that same shit they were talking before I left. And it drives my mind wild. How can one simply want nothing in life? But for clarification purposes: I chose the term “want” simply because in order to do and be better, a desire must be manifested, and desire stems from want. So, to be frank, and avoid bullshitting the issue (I’m not big on bs), you simply want nothing from life, except the “corner action” that you participate in daily. It’s not a lot that I don’t get. But this… I just can’t seem to wrap my mind around it.

  1. “A dream without plan or action is simply a pigment of one’s imagination. And an imagination is no good if the brain power behind it isn’t being properly utilized.” I loved this. So, so true. I know a few people like the ones you described–still standing on that same street corner. I’m just as baffled as you are…

  2. I see the same thing in my neighboorhood. Its sad, but when you don’t have very many realistic role models what do you expect? Everyone wants the ‘money, cars, and clothes’ but noone wants to work for it. Go figure.

  3. Yeah, I agree. When ever I have the chance to go home I see the same people doin’ the same ole thing. Not neccessarily standing on the corner, but still in that same position in their life from the time I left highschool. I get excited when I see an old classmate and I ask them “So, whats been going on with you, its been ten yrs.” They simply respond, “Girl, shit.” Hm. Really :-/

Leave a Reply

